Speaking out…

Goodmorning,

I’ve just watched the interview below & I felt I needed to share it here. It takes 15 minutes, which might be quite a long time out of your busy schedules, but I feel it might be well worth it; here is a reasonable, intelligent & worried fellow human, sharing his concerns about Donald Trump’s victory march in a way that really resonates with how I feel about the whole matter. Unfortunately, so far, I have been unable to voice my concerns the way he does. I’m not one to stand up & put my political & personal opinion out there for the world to hear. But as Brandon Stanton so accurately states in this interview & in his open letter to Mr Trump, it is time to start asking ourselves the question whether opposing this man & his disturbing ideas hasn’t become a moral decision, far more than a political one.
I, much like Mr Stanton, don’t want to tell anybody what he or she should feel or what it right & what is wrong. But I too have seen Donald trump gaining ground in the last couple of months & I understand the real possibility of this man taking the world greatest seat of power. And it concerns me, it frightens me & quite frankly, it disturbs me see that so many apparently think they agree with someone who preaches violence & racism. And I’ve come to the conclusion that not speaking up, not speaking my mind right now, is almost the same as agreeing with what I so full-heartily disagree with.

Brandon Stanton is the photographer & blogger behind the incredible & inspiring Human’s of New York website and Facebook page. For years, he’s been portraying ordinary people on the streets of New York & allowing us a glimpse into their colourful & diverse lives. He’s travelled to countries like Iran, Iraq & Pakistan and last year he posted a heart-breaking series of stories about refugees who had just arrived in Europe.
Human’s of New York is an inspiration to me, it has the ability to make me cry for strangers, roll with laughter & the one page on Facebook that seems able to bring about real change. It’s a beautiful storytellers paradise, which often seems to bring out the very best in people. It’s a place where I actually take the time to read other people’s comments & come away feeling I learned something. And as long as there are pages like this & people like Brandon Stanton, who refuse to give into a climate of hate & fear, I believe I can hold on to the hope of better things to come.

I hope I haven’t kept you too long & I hope I will not offend anyone by claiming my right to say how I feel. I suppose I just needed to get this off my chest to keep an open mind, a clear view & a healthy conscience.
If you have time & you feel like it, have a look at the Human’s of New York page, read the letter below & listen to what this man has to say. Thank for bearing with me & hope to see you soon.

Naomi

Brandon Stanton’s open letter to Donald Trump:

An Open Letter to Donald Trump:Mr. Trump,I try my hardest not to be political. I’ve refused to interview several of…

Geplaatst door Humans of New York op Click here

The interview:  https://www.yahoo.com/news/video/humans-yorks-brandon-stanton-trump-194000204.html 

Human’s of New York website: http://www.humansofnewyork.com/

Human’s of New York Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/humansofnewyork/?fref=nf

 

 

One thought on “Speaking out…

  1. Thanks for sharing this interview and I agree with Brandon Stanton. We can’t just stay on the side line pretending we don’t see and hear what Donald Trump is ‘saying’ to the world.
    Naomi, Thanks for sharing your concern and for ‘speaking up’ through your blog.

Leave a Reply

