Indian Spiced Rice

Just the other day, I came to the concerning conclusion that I didn’t post anything on my blog this month yet. How that happened, I don’t know. Maybe time just goes a little faster every year & it becomes harder to keep up. Or I just get a little slower as time goes by;) Maybe I got distracted by life’s little things or it was life itself, who got preoccupied by all the greater things.
All I really know, is that it is high time I’d share this month’s food blogpost with you. And what a recipe it is, one of my personal favourites; it’s easy, it’s versatile & most importantly, it’s super tasty….. It’s Indian spiced rice!

The taste & smell of this rice takes me right back to my sunny childhood, when we would eat tasty curries & perfectly seasoned pilaf to accompany them. Sometimes, I will go as far as preparing this rice for the mere smell of it, for it fills the house with an unmistakable fragrance of memories. My parent’s pilaf once made me fall in love with good food & this recipe made me fall in love with cooking itself. I make it often & always eat too much of it:)

I found a similar Indian spiced rice recipe on the internet years ago, altered it along the way & ended up with this wonderful & easy way to prepare rice. I always used to boil rice in quite a bit of water & add flavours later. But ever since I first tried this absorption method, I’ve continued to prepare any rice I need in a similar manner. The recipe below is for spiced rice, but you can easy prepare white rice the same way. Just omit the spices & replace the stock with plain water. You might want to add some salt to the rice at the end. I usually use basmati rice, but I’ve prepared the recipe using Jasmine rice as well & it worked perfectly. Just make sure to use a long grain rice, to avoid your rice becoming too sticky.
It’s always a good idea to prepare this rice dish (and any other rice) a couple of hours or even a day in advance, so that the rice get the chance to dry out little. And, as an added bonus, it makes the rice even more flavoursome!
The initial idea was to post this recipe together with my favourite Egg-curry recipe. But since I couldn’t wait to tuck into that curry last time I made it & forgot to take pictures, that recipe will have to wait. Maybe later this month…..but,first, have fun with this delicious recipe! I’m curious to hear how it worked out…

Indian spiced rice

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: approx 45 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
Ingredients
• 2 cups (basmati) rice
• 4 cups vegetable stock
• 4 tablespoons gheeˣ/liquid butter
• 2 cinnamon sticks
• 6 cloves
• 1 onion, finely chopped
• ¼ teaspoon ground cardamom ˣˣ
• Salt to taste

ˣ Ghee is a type of clarified butter, which is commonly used in the Asian Cuisine. However, I usually use common liquid butter.

ˣˣ I use dried cardamom pods, which I panfry, peel and grind. Depending on the size of the pods, it should take you about half a tablespoon of cardamom pods to get ¼ ground cardamom. But using store-bought ground cardamom saves you time and will taste practically the same.

Utensils
• Large non-stick pan
• Cutting board
• Sharp knife
• Silicone spatula
• Mortar and pestle (optional)
• Serving dish

Preparation
• Heat the ghee/butter on medium heat. Add the cinnamon sticks and the cloves.
• Fry the spices until they become fragrant, then add the onion and the rice.
• Fry the onion and rice for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Don’t allow the onion and rice to brown.
• In the meantime, boil water for the stock and make the stock. When using ready-made stock, make sure the stock is boiling hot when you add it to the rice.
• Add the stock and the ground cardamom to the rice and stir well.
• Now quickly place the lid on the pan and reduce the heat to the minimum.
• Cook the rice for about 25 minutes. Don’t remove the lid while the rice is cooking.
• When the rice is cooked, transfer rice to a serving dish and gently fluff the rice with a fork.
Add salt, to taste. Note: The rice is probably quite salty from the stock already, so be careful when using any additional salt
• Don’t forget to remove the cinnamon sticks and the cloves before serving the rice.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Indian Spiced Rice

  1. Had it last weekend at your place and as always, loved it. Difficult to stop eating! Thanks for sharing! Waiting for the egg-curry recipe!

Leave a Reply

