Easy & Tasty Lentil Soup Recipe

Easy & Tasty Lentil soup

Easy & Tasty Lentil soup

Finally, a new food-blog. For some reason it always takes me ages to upload recipe blogs. And that while I’m in the kitchen all the time & I absolutely love cooking fresh, healthy meals every day.
For me, cooking a balanced & delicious meal every day of the week, is as vitally important as getting enough exercise, brushing my teeth & being an overall decent kind of human. Every time when I’m in the kitchen, I want to put both thought & love into the food I make. Because preparing dinner for those I love is my way of saying I care; I care a lot. And ‘selfishly’, cooking is my personal unwind-time in which I sing along with all my favourite songs & think about little else than taste & lyrics.

This year I would like to try & post recipes on a more regular basis. I was thinking one recipe a month, but I guess I’ll just take it as it comes & see where it goes. The recipes I’m planning to post are not all mine. I find my recipes in books & online or I get inspired by programs such as ‘MasterChef Australia’. As time goes by, I often adapt these recipes to personal taste or I come up with seasonal variations to a certain recipe. This way I create a ‘new’ version of an existing idea. And it’s these adapted versions which I would love to share with you right here.

I thought I’d start off these food blogs with a recipe that really suits the winter weather outside. I don’t know about you, but where I am it is pretty cold & frosty at the moment. So, perfect time for a hearty & healthy lentil soup.  This soup isn’t hard to make & will take about an hour to cook. My sister once gave this recipe to me & I’ve made the soup many times since. I have added potato & green bell pepper to the original recipe, simply because I love those vegetables in any lentil soup. Unfortunately, this soup, like most lentil soups, doesn’t photograph well, but I assure you, it taste so much better than it looks:)

Have fun with it & if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask. I’ll try to answer any questions as quickly as possible.

Easy & Tasty Lentil soup

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: approx 1hr
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Easy & Tasty Lentil soup
Serves: 4

Ingredients:
– 1 tablespoon peanut oil or sunflower oil
– 1 onion, peeled & cut into small pieces
– 3 celery stalks, cut into small pieces
– 1 green bell pepper, cut into small pieces
– 2 or 3 medium sized potatoes, cut into small cubes
– 2 cloves of garlic, peeled & grated
– ± 3 cm fresh ginger, peeled & grated
– 2 tablespoons Garam Masala powder
– 200 grams (or 1 cup) red lentils
– 500 ml (light) coconut milk
– 1 litre vegetable stock
– 1 or 2 limes
– Salt and pepper, to taste
– A small bunch of fresh coriander
– Crème Fraiche (optional)

Utensils:
– Chopping board
– Sharp knife
– Grater
– Can opener
– Silicon Spatula or spoon
– Large (non-stick) pan

Preparing the soup:
– Put your (non- stick) pan on high heat and add the oil.
– When the oil is hot, add the onion, celery, bell pepper and potato. Fry for about 5 minutes.
– Reduce the heat to medium and add the grated garlic and ginger. Fry for about a minute.
Keep stirring to keep the ginger and garlic from burning.
– Stir in the Garam masala. Fry for about a minute or until you can clearly smell the Garam masala.
– Turn up the heat and add the lentils, the coconut milk and the vegetable stock. Bring everything to the boil.
– Turn the heat down, place a lid on the pan and let the soup simmer for about 35 to 40 minutes or until the lentils are cooked and fall apart. Frequently stir the soup. If you like your soup a little thicker, remember to take the lid off towards the end of the cooking time.
– When the lentils are cooked through and the soup is done, add the juice of 1 or 2 limes.
– Add salt and pepper, to taste.
– Serve the soup with a handful of fresh coriander on top and maybe a small scoop of crème Fraiche.

If you liked this post, you might like to check out my previous food blogs too:
Eggplant Salad & Vegetarian Thai Green Curry

One thought on “Easy & Tasty Lentil Soup Recipe

  1. Thanks for the recipe. I’m going to make it tomorrow and leave it in the fridge for Thursday when I’m home late! And for those who are only just now starting to read your blog: Try the Eggplant salad…it’s too good!

Leave a Reply

