A photo a day, 2015 – week 40

1) Field of sunshine

1) Field of sunshine

October Theme: The Art of Autumn

Autumn; my favourite season of them all. If you ask me, autumn simply has the best of everything. The warmth of summer, the beauty of spring & all the cosiness of winter.
Nature changes rapidly. All around me, trees decorated in festive colours as their leafs go from green, to yellow, to orange, red, brown. The sun casting long shadows, revealing spider webs & casting angel rays on the surface below. The days get shorter, the mornings darker, but the evenings are long & fulfilling. I feel like going into the kitchen the instance the sun goes down, cooking warm soups, hot curries & hearty potpies. I want to gather all the songs I ever loved, memorize all the words I ever learned & dance to it all. I want everything, but at the same time, I want as little as possible.

This is the wonderful season of change; around me & inside of me. Each and every year at the beginning of autumn, as the first subtle changes take shape around us, the promise of change settles within my wandering mind. That exiting, yet slightly unsettling feeling of all things ending & all things beginning at the same moment in time. Like life & time are colliding somehow. Everything comes together; one last meeting on the threshold of winter. Promise is in the air, dancing around with its friends, called hope, sorrow, joy & disappointment. Days slipping away, drifting down with the leafs, swirling through the streets & disappearing from sight. The year drawing to a close, but there is still time to alter the course of the memories we are about to make.

Maybe the dark days of winter were created for reflection, but as it turns out, my days of reflection come with the colourful days of fall. My impatient mind wants to put the days, months & years in order right now, it wants to understand the when & the why of it all. It wants to come to terms with what happened to the world when we weren’t watching & what the winter will bring if we don’t find a way to put everything back on track. It wants to make plans, wants to look forward & backwards, all in equal amounts. But most of all, it wants to pause & understand the moment. It simply wants to be & be nothing more than here, now, today.

My October theme celebrates autumn; showcases it through my eyes. Close-up, simple & in full colour.

Leave a Reply

