A photo a day, 2015 – week 25

18) Kroost

18) Kroost

Friday

Just another Friday. But a Friday drenched in emotion & paralyzing disbelieve.

Yesterday, as I was putting this post together, the world was trembling. A wave of violence swept from north to south, east to west, leaving this world in a bigger mess than the morning had found it in. Bombs exploding, chaos in the streets, questions flying everywhere. So much hate, so much separation & so little compassion. News of casualties came sliding into my news-feed, an avalanche of sadness covering my desk & mind within a matter of minutes.

Often, when I think it can’t get any worse, it gets worse. Just when I feel we’ve seen it all, they show us more. At times my soul cringes & I wonder how I am supposed to hold on the gentleness of my mind. How to stay kind, to stay hopeful in the face of this hardening world. Must I lose my innocence? Must I become immune for suffering, for violence? But then what will become of my empathy? My compassion? My humanity?

I looked at the colourful & silly pictures I had just put together and wondered whether it was right to post a collection of such insignificant images on a day when every moment feels soaked with deeper meaning. All that I had done seemed suddenly futile, so out of place.

But is it not this silliness, this beauty & these seemly pointless little art-collections which keep me sane? These posts; the words, the pictures, they are the only stand I can take against the madness & the destruction all around. Every image I look at, everything I create, is a reminder of the beauty of this world. I think I believe that the meaning of life is to be found in our day to day lives. And as long as we go on living those lives, we take a stand against those who want to scare us & who continue to undermine our freedom. As long as we go to work, we read our books, we watch the news, we raise our voice & write our letters. As long as we refuse to lose our kindness, our softness or our compassion, we are winning. And it’s not an easy task. But most of the time, it’s the best & all we can do. And I believe, if we do it best we can, we will continue to be the very best versions of ourselves…

Friday, just another Friday. But a Friday on which colourful flags were proudly raised, as people celebrated in the streets. A Friday on which other flags were lowered in a wordless attempt to right all the wrong that was once done. ‘Amazing Grace’ was sang by a group of mournful voices; its soothing notes stretching out into the sky, finding their way to the shores of faraway countries were nameless people died under the same heavens. A Friday on which people went for dinner, watched their favorite movies, cooked their favorite meals. A Friday on which educated minds bend down over reports & recommendations, written by educated people, trying to solve issues no one ever thought to educate us about. A Friday on which we triumphed and failed. We mourned and celebrated. We kissed, cuddles, laughed, cried, fell down & got back up again. A Friday on which we lived, loved, laughed, hoped & feared.

And a Friday on which I marveled over silly little words for silly little things; feeling silly and elated and sad and hopeful and frightened and happy all in one simple day. And I suddenly understood that that’s probably what life is like. Most every Friday & most every day…

 

2 thoughts on “A photo a day, 2015 – week 25

  1. Thanks for your beautiful words, which show me time and again how strong, clever and wise you are. And how strong you make me feel. You have the power to look reality in the eye, see it for what it is. That takes courage.At the same time you bring joy, a smile & comfort into this world with your lovely art. Thanks for that.

  2. Thanks Naomi for these touching words. And like you I think, that we have to believe that the meaning of life is to be found in our day to day lives. Not always easy, but through your words I have to realize this even more and try to live an even more meaningful life.

Leave a Reply

