A photo a day, 2015 – week 16 & 17

16) green as grass

Changing Perspective

the grass is greener
here
&
on the other side

 

Patterns

Sometimes I seem to forget that this blog, that this space right here, is mine. My place to explore, discover, learn & share whatever I feel is worth sharing. As always I forget contains doesn’t necessarily have to be flawless for it to be nice. Pictures don’t have to be perfect. Words don’t have to be edited, reedited & reread before they are allowed to find their way to this page. After all, this is my place to be as flawed & imperfect as I need to be at times. The place where my inner critic should be forgotten & forbidden.
But, as it goes with most people, my old habits seem to die hard. My stubborn mind falls into familiar patterns; it turns harmless wondering into endless worrying & gets in the way of my creativity time and time again.

And this is why, at the beginning of this month, I was feeling pretty anxious about my month’s theme, unsure about the subthemes; texture, reflection, patterns & perspective. I felt I had little experience with these unexplored photo subjects & set off with a sense of insecurity surrounding me. The first week of April became nothing but a struggle. I was over-analysing & over-thinking every picture I took, I found myself worried about the colours, the composition & the subjects. And all this worrying was taking the fun out of this whole photo project.

But halfway this beautiful spring month I had enough it & decided to have a good one on one with my pondering mind. My spring break started & it couldn’t have come at a better time. I left the computer where it was, packed my clothes & the camera and set off into the waking world outside. And as I cycled through the fields, as I walked across the beach & as I marvelled at this exiting world bathing in green, I forgot to worry about angles, colours, composition. I took photo after photo, feeling exited every time my finger found the shutter. I hardly thought of patterns or perspective. And whenever I did think about them, I came to the conclusion that both subjects were everything but new to me. Wasn’t I the one who spend an entire year shooting PlayMobil figures at impossible angles; changing perspective each time I tried to place these little people in this world full of slightly bigger people? And didn’t I spend every single summer finding beautiful patterns in skies above, the cobbles on the pavement & the crops growing on the fields all around?

Patterns. So hard to break. My mind loves wandering, but for years I used it for worrying instead. So, who am I to blame it for doing what it has always been told to do?
Patterns. Patterns everywhere & all around. Some of these patterns are comforting & safe. Some keep me grounded & provide structure when I need it most. But sometime these same patterns hold me back, get me down & force me to sound the retreat. And that’s when I know it is time for a change. Time to trade places, play some mind tricks on that silly mind of mine & change perspective for a while….

23) Lost

4 thoughts on “A photo a day, 2015 – week 16 & 17

  1. Love, love, love these pictures! You have this marvelous, perfect & gorgeous way of presenting the world to us. Wish that more people would see this!

  2. Hope your mind keeps on wandering, because that way you provide us with nice, inspiring words, thoughts and beautiful photos. The world is constantly changing and although patterns on a photo seem to stay as they are, they too can change in a split second.
    For sure I love the patterns photos but I also love the changing perspective ones…sheep spotting. Of lately your new hobby!
    Thanks and till next week.

  3. Cannot agree more with the coments above..being aware of patterns, strctures, then deciding which pattern or what habbit to keep and which or what to get rid of.

Leave a Reply

