A piece of land to call my own

Beetroot

Beetroot

It’s just me & the birds. The flowers & the bumblebees. The dark soil & the bright light.
The weeds that keep growing. The butterflies who keep searching. The world which keeps spinning. And I who may take a moment to listen to a thousand leafs composing the sound of silence in the trees above my head .

Sitting here, I feel so much richer than I really am.

I wrote these lines weeks ago, as I sat in our wilderness-kitchen-garden, enjoying the fresh air & realizing how privileged I am to have a piece of land to call my own.
At the start of this gardening season I planned to write a weekly update about our efforts in the garden, complete with pictures & hopefully some inspiring words to accompany them. But as it goes with plans, or at least with most of my plans, the updates never happened. Days went by, weeks became months; the spring came & left again. Summer gave us sun & showers. The garden was abuzz with bees & bumblebees, while we discovered the biggest snails we had ever seen. We ate more zucchinis than we thought to be humanly possible, enjoyed the sweetest corn straight from the cob & stir fried the squeakiest green beans at dinnertime. Flowers & mint grew plentiful; I took them home with me, made tea which tasted like summer & placed small, colorful bouquets on the windowsill to brighten up the living room.

We worked; sometimes hard, sometimes organized, sometimes haphazardly. We pull this weed, left another. We learned to ignore meaningful raised eyebrows whenever a seasoned gardener wondered down our path, while we took aboard some of their sound advice & heartfelt compliments. We battled snails & when we grew tired of battling them, we invited them to gather on the compost heap & fed them green leftovers.
And while we enjoy the summer, the garden, the rain & the heat, I guess I never made it to the computer to write this update, to sort out the pictures or to process our progress. I believe I was too busy living the life I was planning to document…

 

5 thoughts on “A piece of land to call my own

  1. wauw….with this story it feels i am sitting right next to you enjoying life. Thank you for you lively words whereby we all can just escape for a moment in the world of veggie, snails, sunshine, rain and the beauty of this all. Hugs

  2. Nature so much appreciated! You are blessed because you can put it down in words and pictures so beautiful, it makes me smile. Thanks. p.s. you don’t mind me sharing your post I hope?

  3. I had to read the garden-blog tonight and see the beautiful pictures.
    Loved it to make a trip through the seasons, from barely anything to a full healthy, nice looking garden, catch in beautiful photos….different shades of green, red, yellow, orange….and so much more. And all the little creatures…helping and eating!
    Thanks a lot and please, do this more often!

Leave a Reply

