This is not a food blog post

Ever since I started this blog, I’ve been thinking of adding a food post to it every now and then. Nothing fancy; just sharing my favorite recipes with those few followers who make it to my blog on a regular basis.
I grew up enjoying my parents delicious roasts, curries & stews. And got spoiled by siblings who made homemade pizzas & baked fabulous cakes for me. There are a lot of great things to say about my childhood; a list of things I thankful for.And I guess would be safe to say that our family dinners are ranking pretty high on that list. Very early on I learned to appreciate fresh & wholesome products and I discovered the value of sharing food with those you love & care for.
But even though I have always loved good food, as a kid I actually spend very little time cooking. Not because I didn’t want to, but just because there were so many others who liked it so much & they were all so very good at it. It wasn’t until I moved to my first (and last) student room that I cooked my very first meal ever. A simple pasta sauce. I can still remember how proud I felt & how it somehow tasted like the best pasta sauce I ever had. I have been cooking ever since…

So, a food blog shouldn’t be a big deal, should it? But it turns out it is. Cause somehow it isn’t happening. And it’s not like I haven’t tried. Believe me, I have. It’s just that, for some reason, I freeze up whenever I start working on what could be my first blog post about food. I don’t know what it is.

Or do I? Maybe, as usual, little has changed. Maybe I want to share my love for food with the world & maybe a tiny part of me believes I can add something new to the vast world of food blogs. But it’s just that there are so many others who love it too & they are all so very good at it. There are countless blogs filled with recipes out there; great blogs & great recipes. Who am I kidding, thinking that anyone out there would want to read the mediocre recipes I have to offer? Maybe it’s better if I stick to what I seem to do best; talking myself down completely while trying to do something as simple as writing a food blog post….

No.
It’s time to leave the ‘student room’ & show you all the best I’ve got to offer;) Because even though I am by no means a great cook, I absolutely love it & I guess cooking a healthy and tasty dish every day of the week means a lot to me. It’s my way of telling those close to me that I love them & care for them a great deal, that I want to give them the very best to keep them healthy & happy.
And at the same time cooking reminds me of the girl I once was, living far from here, sitting around the table with her siblings, enjoying the tasty dishes put in front of her by those who love & care for her too. It brings back memories & moments. But more than anything it combined the past & present into a perfect circle, which allows me to visit the childhood I so long for every now and then. That’s what cooking means to me & that’s why I want to write a food blog post!

to be continued…

3 thoughts on “This is not a food blog post

  1. Stay incurable for sometime, stumble a bit longer with thoughts and words….and then and then….after a long time give us your secret recipe filled with loved, care and tasty products! I love to read your blogs and always want more!!!

  2. Love the picture and it brings back memories. I read your post and it made me smile a bit; my memories are a bit diffrent. Although we ate well when growing up I don’t think ( or might not remember )the greatest dishes ever.
    And you make us,,your slightly older sisters, sound like great chefs whereas I recall..the pizza with a zillion olives and ‘anjovis”i remember the Biggest Bossche Bol ever and i do recall the moment that a tin of sardines in bright red tomatosauce made its way between the clean, bright handwashed white sheets on the bed of our parents during a home alone holiday.

    But somehow you manage, ever day again, to produce real good and tasty food; always with lots of flavour, all fresher than fresh and made with so much care, love, passion and feeling that your attention for every singe food item could make a tomato blush. Keep cooking, but in between meals do start writing about food and share your recipes with us.

Leave a Reply

