The boy who wanted to know everything

Image

It’s my brother’s birthday today. He’s turning thirty-five. 
I haven’t seen him in over a year; this dear brother of mine. Strange how time passes by and manages to create such an enormous gap between partings & meetings. When I was little, it would have been impossible to imagine spending such a long time apart from my siblings. But as you grow up & time speeds up around you, the days seem to go faster and faster. They turn into months and then, silently, into years.

Four years older than I, which at some point in time must have seemed like an enormous difference in age. Because when I look back at the years we spend living alongside one another, I mostly remember feeling that my brother was so many years ahead of me in everything he did and attempted to do. Yes, I guess I have to admit that in my eyes, he was the brightest, most educated & inventive brother anyone could ever wish for. He read magazines filled with words I had never heard of. He climbed, walked & cycled so much faster than I ever thought I’d be able to. He cooked & baked cakes, he took photos & he worked on the computer. He seemed to know it all, yet still wanted to know everything about everything And most of all he listened to classical music all the time, something which, for some reason, seemed very sophisticated to me back in the days (Never mind the fact that he constantly whistled along with the greatest composers of our time; too loud & completely out of tune.)

I can’t recall whether we did many things together; David & I. All I remember is the movies we watched together. All sorts of movies, but hardly ever light entertainment though. I remember watching films like ‘The Holocaust’, ‘The Godfather-trilogy’, ‘The Untouchables’ and ‘Escape from Alcatraz’. We would never say much or comment on what we saw. No, we just sat together, watching the tragic stories unfold, both storing what we say away in completely different parts of our heart and mind, I’m sure. All this might not seem like much to share with your brother, but honestly these silent moments of shared interest have always meant a lot to me. Because those lazy evenings & afternoons opened my eyes to the classic beauty of the moving image & have cemented my deep love for movies for once and for all. So, it’s a fond memory.

I woke up this morning thinking of my brother, far away, living in the States, living a life I know so little about. And I couldn’t help thinking how time has the tendency to come between you and the ones you love most. It’s been so many years; David living his life, while I’m living mine. That’s how life is suppose to go, I guess; you grow up together, share a life, until you don’t and that’s fine too.
But today, on my brother’s birthday, I want to take a moment to think about the clever, stubborn & inquisitive boy who left home many year ago, just to who grow into an educated, adventurous, loving & talented man/husband/ brother. I wish him all the happiness in the world and want all his dreams to come true. And hopefully, one day, we can dig up a long, preferably slightly gloomy movie and spend an afternoon side by side watching it…

Happy Birthday, David!

Image

2 thoughts on “The boy who wanted to know everything

  1. lovely, lovely piece….it brought me right back to our childhood and mostly I thought of Tanzania..the rock climbing,
    the classical music and the stubborn boy he was at times. I surely remember the gloomy movies you guys watched and than the fast cycling..Naomi, thanks again for this blog..time goes too fast at times!

  2. Thanks for sharing this part of life with all of us. We are all able to remember it but to put it into the rights words!
    To see the photo…to remember that David almost died from the sun that day,because of the distance, the bicycle that was not fitting him…the movies, the classical music..Davids right to get good education…Our tours on the bicycle in the Netherlands and even further, David convincing his prof he would get his drivers-licence and convincing his prof he was able to get his PhD with the mongooses in Uganda, (bottom- photo Uganda) David arranging all and everything for his sisters, for me and so much more!
    Thanks Naomi for this ‘tribute’ on Davids birthday!

Leave a Reply

