NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo

Can I write 50.000 words in 30 days? Will I be able to turn off my inner critic long enough to reach that ultimate goal of about 1666 word per day?

November is coming up and this means that the worldwide writing challenge, called NaNoWriMo http://nanowrimo.org/, is about to start. It’s a crazy writing- challenge, in which you are suppose to write a complete book of at least 50.000 words in the month November.

I heard about it a couple of years ago, but up until now I’ve never dared to participate.
Why not? Several reasons, I suppose. First of all, of course, I think I won’t be able to finish such a project. I feel sure I’ll utterly fail and be hugely disappointed with myself on the 30st of November. Secondly, I don’t know what to write about. I should at least have a decent idea to work with, shouldn’t I? And I don’t.
And lastly, I’m still trying to decide whether I believe that this challenge will help me with my never-ending writers block.
I can probably type over a 1000 words a day and if I really set my mind to it, I might have written a ‘novel’ or at least the beginning of a novel, at the end of the month. But will it be any good? Can I write so much and still concentrate on a good story, strong characters and a decent plot? Won’t my work be a collection of nonsense, merely aimed at writing as much as possible. Quantity above quality. And I’m not sure whether that’s me.

But here I am again, already making excuses, just because I’m convinced that what I’ll produce will be bad, will be crappy material. Wish I could say to myself, in my toughest possible voice; ‘and what if it is crap? Who cares? Just go for it and see what happens…’

But should I?
I don’t know.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Dear sister, go for it! I am sure you can do it…or at least give it a try…Who cares if the story, finished or not, will be or is crap? Just start and see where it will bring you…what is it what they say,,,,aim for the moon, if you fail you land among the stars? Love you Noot!

    • oeps, message is from me, rebecca, but since I am on Ruth her laptop I guess the computer goes straight for her name…hmmm, make sure that when you publish yyour book/send it to the editer your name will be on the cover!

Leave a Reply

