Words

There are words;
in my head,
in my room,
in my dream.

There are words everywhere. Words as I stand in line, count out paper and coins. Words as I cross the road, rush home. Words as I walk the street towards my house. I mumble them under my breath, imprint them on my mind, repeat them over and over and over. I climb the stairs , loyal as a dog the words follow me up all 56 concrete steps. I search for my key, struggle with the lock. Heavy bags of groceries slide from my shoulder, juicy apples roll through the hallway. I kneel down, pick the fruit one by one, while words roll forward in my head, crashing into many more words waiting there.

Words.
Could be the beginning of a story,
the start of something new.
I run to my desk, look for paper, take the pen in my hand.
Words.
There were words once
But then all the words are gone.

2 thoughts on “Words

  1. “Of all sad words of tongue or pen, the saddest are these, ‘It might have been.”
    ― John Greenleaf Whittier, Maud Muller – Pamphlet

    But you Naomi, have the power to even turn these “might have been” into, again, beautiful words!! Meaning, that even when you sit down to write the words you most probably just thought of on that particular moment and ” lost” them, you still manage to make a wonderful combination of words which ( according to my opinion) should make up for the lost ones. So the “it might have been” words in your head……… are always there.

  2. You must have found back a good number of words, because you just shared them with us.
    Please find them all back and trust them to your paper, write them down on your wall, put them in your shoppingbasket, store some in a pocket of your coat, mix them through your favourite recipe but don’t keep them to yourself

Leave a Reply

